Picking Up Projects

Standard

I am probably the most indecisive, undisciplined writer there is. Making up my mind about writing is impossible. I am very torn. I love writing and miss it very much, but the other side of me says I don’t have the time and there are more important things in life than writing stories that no one benefits from anyway.

Every now and then, I go back and read old things I have written. I started NaNoWriMo 2014, but quit about a quarter of the way into it. That was a big deal to me. Anyway, I actually really liked my story idea. In my humble opinion 😛 , I think it’s pretty cool. I got about 18k into it and then stopped. Here is the last bit I wrote:

I wanted us to stay alive.
I thought about the wish he gave me on the shooting star. I thought about our night together and how much we had thought we meant to each other and knew each other. I did know him now, but it wasn’t that way. It wasn’t the I-want-20-million-children-from-you way, or even that I needed him close. I needed love. And it wouldn’t have to be complicated.
I took a deep breath. “I hear them,” I said.

If I could only discipline myself to find a healthy balance between writing and life. I so easily obsess over things…

Have you ever “taken a break” from writing? What made you quit? What made you pick it up again? How do you balance writing and real life? I need advice. 🙂

9 responses »

  1. I always try to take a break between books. I usually have the next idea, but not enough for a story. Days spent fishing, or pruning trees, have a way of expanding the idea into a worthy project.

  2. Yes! It’s always when I decide I “suck”. But over time, I’ve decided that I don’t think a break of more than a day or two is productive. Sometimes you do need to take a breath, get some distance and see where the thread of the story is going, but then you need to dive back in. And sometimes I’ll take a break from one novel/story, but during that break I’ll dive into another. Every reputable writer I’ve heard talk about this says in order to become a writer, you must write write write until your fingers bleed (figuratively, of course).

  3. Awkward confession: I’m not writing any fiction right now. I’m editing fiction, I’m writing non-fiction critique and feedback. And it doesn’t really bother me, because the time to do everything I want to doesn’t exist at present.

    I’m sure that when I send back the edit I’ll be able to drop into the rest of my novella-in-progress, and maybe even follow it up with another short story. I keep said novella in the back of my mind, the first couple lines I will write next just below the surface. I want to get back to it, but will only do that when the time is right.

Leave a Reply

