Winter With You

Standard
Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

Days get cold.

The days grow dark.

But I have no reason to care.

You are there to keep me warm,

and your smile lights the world.

There’s no such thing as too many lights though;

and we hang them in our bedroom,

in the hall,

on the Christmas tree,

in the kitchen.

I picture our home decorated for Christmas.

It is our safe haven,

the place where you can be you,

and I will be me.

We can be us.

I picture sitting on the sofa, reading colorful Christmas books to our children

before you carry them off to bed.

We’ll have a picnic in front of the tree once they’re asleep.

I love our sweet and quiet hours together.

If I’m feeling silly, I’ll wrap you in Christmas lights.

And kiss you until our breath is gone.

I want you to carry me to bed.

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

I’ll wake up there alone.

I’ll wake up there cold.

I’ll wake up remembering only a dream.

The snow will be falling silently outside.

I’ll stand at my window,

letting my fingertips touch the freezing glass.

I will wait for you to come home.

Come home to me.

Let me spend this winter with you.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

