Keep Me Alive

Standard

I miss you.

It’s wrong that you’re not here.

Too many things remind me of you, make me think of you.

A voice, a face.

Sirens, a song.

I see you with me everywhere. Me with you.

It could make me cry, but I am trying to be strong.

Trying to make sense of it all.

Trying to live without you.

How invincible I will be when I have learned to be happy without you.

I will have achieved the impossible.

But still, I will never be happy with anyone else.

I will never want anyone else.

And how could I?

You are my everything and all I ever wanted.

I couldn’t simply give my heart to someone new.

In the back of my mind, I seem to still believe that if I am only patient enough,

if I wait long enough,

you will be my reward.

How easily I fool myself into believing that.

But it’s what keeps me alive.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

