Past And Future – An Update

Standard
  • I’m moving and going back to school.
  • I’m laying aside my current writing project.
  • And starting something new.

12-Month Review

This last year has been absolutely crazy.

Tomorrow is my last day of work before I move back to Berlin next week. A year ago, I had just moved back to Berlin again. I had finished a 5-month internship at my current job and was about to write my thesis to complete my Bachelor’s degree. My sister’s wedding was a few weeks away. We had people from four different countries staying at our house. It was the craziest and best time of my life.

On a lark, I decided to do NaNoWriMo. I had way too much fun and met lots of cool people. My thesis was approximately 10,000 words – that was torture. During the four months I had to write it, I wrote 100,000+ words for different stories… In February, I completed my degree; and a few weeks later, I moved again. I worked for five weeks, then had two months off, in which I traveled across the US to visit friends and family.

Germany won the World Cup!

What’s Ahead

I will be going back to school for a Master’s degree. I plan on being very diligent. 🙂

The Part about Writing

I also plan on taking my writing more seriously. I want to win NaNo again, so I have (slowly) been making preparations.

I have decided to lay aside my current projects and take up a new one. That is, I need to work on something smaller. I’ve found out that Hidden People is too much for me at the moment. The project and story is too huge (for me), and I need to be able to complete at least something.

I will be planning a shorter, less complex story to write in November. I want to go through a structured (yeah, good luck with that, Brooks) writing process and actually complete something. Hidden People etc. is too overwhelming at the moment. I definitely plan on picking it back up and finishing it, but I simply can’t manage it right now.

Details on my new project will follow. I am sort of excited about it. 😀

Who else is participating in NaNoWriMo this year? It’s coming up sooner than you think!

8 responses »

  1. I’m doing NaNo, and from the glorious timezone of GMT+4.5, so I’ll be able to catch you for some word wars. 🙂

    The plan is to write the first draft of Darkness Revealed, with a rough guesstimate goal of 120,000.

Leave a Reply

