CALLUM MCLAUGHLIN – Author Interview

Standard

I’m posting my first author interview today. I’m so excited! I don’t remember when or how I met Callum – other than that it was on our blogs not too long ago. Anyway, he has got to be one of my favorite poet writers, and he was kind enough to let me interview him.

Callum McLaughlin was born and raised in the Scottish countryside where he continues to live and work. Aside from his own creative writing endeavours, he operates on a freelance basis, producing content for blogs, websites and magazines. Out with this, he is interested in all things music and nature, and takes his greatest inspiration from the world around us.

callum

Why did you start writing?

I’ve always had a love and appreciation of storytelling. Some of my clearest and fondest childhood memories are of being read to by my mother and grandfather; it just seems like a natural progression that I turned that passion into trying to create stories of my own. My uncle is a playwright, so I suppose subconsciously I also knew it was possible to achieve a career in the creative world. The opportunities in a job that revolves around unfiltered imagination are endless, which I just find hugely exciting.

What are you up to when you’re not writing?

If I’m not writing my own books, chances are I’ll be reading someone else’s. I’m really into music as well; I have a modest but constantly growing vinyl collection, and, at risk of offending, I’ve always stood firm that I prefer animals to humans, so you’ll often find me wasting time with my two cats and scruffy dog. It seems I really am a typical introvert… I do have friends, honestly.

You’ve published a novella. Tell us about that.

I published The Vessel in November 2013. It’s a suspense thriller set in a dystopian world in which society has collapsed and the government has become heavily misguided in their attempts to salvage what remains of humanity. We follow Eva Cole as she endeavours to expose the truth and bring hope back to the people.

Are you planning on compiling your poetry for publication?

It’s funny because if you’d asked me this a year ago, I’d have said “no way” because I wouldn’t have thought myself good enough, nor would I have expected there to be an audience interested in my little musings. I must say though that with more experience, lovely readers over on my blog and gentle but consistent encouragement from others, I’ve been won round to the idea of the venture. My hope is that following publication of my current WIP later this year, I can start compiling a poetry collection to be released in 2015.

Where would you like to be in 5-10 years?

As cheesy as it sounds, I just hope I’m happy, and lucky enough to still be writing. I’m not looking for fame and high fortune; I just want to share my words with the world and if that can amount to a blossoming career, all the better.

Thank you very much, Callum. Everyone else can find and support Callum on his blog, follow him on Twitter, check out his novella. He’s definitely one of those writers worth keeping an eye on.

Blog: http://callummclaughlin.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Callum_M1

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7400503.Callum_McLaughlin

The Vessel available from Amazon UK (click HERE) or USA (click HERE)

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

