Of Beauty And Inner Worth

Standard

Disclaimer: I usually don’t write disclaimers, since this is my blog and may do basically what I want. I will admit this is different from what I normally write, but I get random every now and then. Hope you enjoy it anyway. 🙂

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

Thank you for just telling me I’m ugly, childish, worthless, and good for nothing and no one but dogs. Thank you very much indeed.

I think I’ve tweeted about this before, but why is it acceptable to walk up to someone and say, “You’re so skinny and should eat more”?

I picture myself out with friends and telling my heavier one, “You’re fat. Stop eating.”

I have a friend who tends toward heaviness, but she doesn’t even eat that much. She probably eats as much (or little) as I do, but her body is different. Her mother had four children and is “fat.” My mother had four children and is “skinny.”

As long as we are making healthy choices for our bodies, I don’t think weight should be a topic to discuss. If someone is starving or stuffing themselves, you should talk to them not because it will make them ugly, but because it is unhealthy.

Your inner being is far more important than your outer shell anyway. Inner beauty includes loving God with your heart, soul, and mind. It includes caring about others as yourself. Don’t fool yourself into believing you’re only pretty if men are drooling (dogs, anyone?) over you. Real men care about your soul and appreciate your body the way it is.

Agree? Disagree? Don’t be shy, girls and boys!

10 responses »

  1. Bullying people for the way they look, whether skinny or heavy, is wrong. I have been the ‘fat’ one in my home country, even now that I lost 20 kg over the past years. I always felt better when in the UK or in the US. I’m still struggling with my confidence about my looks though I am doing much better. I have friends who are on the skinny and heavy sides, and I wouldn’t imagine saying nasty things to any of them!

    I agree that as long as you do your best to be healthy and have a good soul, this is what matters. Physiology can also be different from one person to the other. For example, I have very thick and heavy bones, so I have to factor that into what I weight and how I look.

    • Absolutely! Somehow, people just can’t get it into their heads that there are different body types and conditions. I couldn’t gain wait if I wanted to — and trust me, I want to; but try as may, I simply cannot (I just get a chubby face 😀 ).
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts, Natacha!

  2. Great post. I think, unfortunately, there are some people that can only build themselves up at the expense of others. They can’t just look in the mirror and recognize their own beauty without making a comparison to someone else. And that is really sad. What we should all strive for is to accept ourselves (beauty, intelligence, humor), while still appreciating others.

  3. I used to be overweight and struggled so much with social anxiety because we are constantly told that everyone should look a certain way. Then I lost weight and had people telling me I was too skinny. It seems there’s just no winning with society! So long as we’re healthy by our own standards, frankly it shouldn’t be anyone else’s business.

    • So true. I understand and appreciate people who tell others that you don’t have to be slim to be good-looking; but when they go so far to say that skinny people simply don’t look good, it’s just… yeah – a little beside the point. Psh, forget society. 😀
      Thanks for your comment, Callum.

Leave a Reply

