Memory Mondays? Monday Memories? Whatever.

Standard

I wanted to be a kid again today. My day job involves the expatriation of employees (very generally put), and today a couple just back from Peru came to the office with two of their children. (Every woman needs some kids in her life to stay healthy. At least this one does. It’s been too long since I’ve been around kids. Anyway…) They told how their two older children were staying with their grandparents.

And that reminded me of my long lost childhood and staying at my grandparents’ whenever my family came back to Germany in between expat terms. (Fun fact: My parents were employed at the very place I now work, some… (gulp) seventeen years ago. Not so fun fact after all.)

Snippets of The Past

Gray dirt, pine needles, and tree roots.

Getting rubber boots stuck in the mud.

Dogs. Oh goodness, tons and tons of dogs.

The dusty cave under the stairs and pretending to be Scar from The Lion King and singing “Be Prepared.” That was epic.

More dogs.

Awful airplane food that Dad had to finish.

Jet lag.

Rain and the shed in my grandparents’ backyard.

Being a real brat.

Apple juice.

Visiting and meeting too many people.

Being shy.

Refusing to speak one word of German.

Mud cookies.

Screaming at my dad and his friend for killing the fish. Eating the fish.

Marigolds. The smell of marigolds.

When I was younger, I thought grownups couldn’t remember their childhood. I mean, I’m not too grown up; but obviously, one remembers quite a bit. And I think it’s fascinating. Every person had a childhood, and I’m actually very curious about what you remember from yours. Share in the comments or better, write your own post! I’d love to read it.

Leave a Reply

