Camp NaNoWriMo Update III

Standard

The hardest part about writing these updates is keeping myself from wasting time looking for a photo on Pinterest. I know last week’s was very fitting, but let’s stick with my stats this time.

Nano Stat wk 3

I have been using this month for a rewrite of Hidden People. Some parts are easier than others. I boosted my word count with easier parts. Now I am at the point where I need to come up with solutions to the story’s problems; but I had an illumination yesterday, so I am still hopeful.

Another challenge: Keeping my characters from being obnoxious jerks that everyone will hate. I don’t know why my characters are so unlikeable.

What makes your characters likable?

7 responses »

  1. I think good flaws make characters likeable. But don’t worry if your characters aren’t likeable, I always think a good character needs to inspire feeling in the reader, so if your readers like them or hate them you’ve done a good job.

    • Some people are very quick to hate characters (my sister always hates my female protagonists). I’m normally rather neutral. I hardly ever really LOVE main characters – when reading, I mean.
      I don’t know why…

  2. I can agree with the above commenter. Also, the reader just needs to be able to connect with them. So even if they aren’t likeable, if there is a trait the reader can identify with, that may make them likeable in other ways . . . if that makes sense. 🙂 The novel I’m working on for Camp NaNo also doesn’t have the most likeable of protagonists, but by humanizing her, I’m hoping to engage my readers. We’ll see if I’m successful.

    Write on!

      • Perhaps you’ve already done it. Don’t doubt! If they have that spark of humanity in their thoughts, then the reader can recognize it. What kind of character is he/she?

  3. I’ve got a character in my novel who is a spineless, weepy, emotionally wrecked, pile of worthless garbage at the start of the story. Yeah, the reader can feel pathos for the poor guy (he has VERY good reasons for his state), but he’s not likeable.

    But as the story moves along, he starts realizing that he has things intrinsic to him that DO make him valuable, worth having around. And he changes drastically. By the end, he’s a considerate, calm, and confident man willing to go into the unknown consequences be damned.

    My point being, a lot of making unlikeable characters likeable is developing them through the story into the person they should be, but aren’t yet. It’s what readers actually look for.

Leave a Reply

