Camp NaNoWriMo Update II

Standard

Yesterday, I was all, “And when the second week of Camp is over, I’ll post another update.” Yeah, so I looked at the calendar today. We’re half way through!

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

I wish I could say I am half way through my word count goal; however, I am somewhat behind – this time, due to World Cup (yay, Germany!), and World Cup (go, Germany!), and laziness (boo, me).

My word count goal is 30,000 and I have exactly 9,380 words at this very moment. My progress is satisfactory, considering my lack of motivation and inspiration. I am an obsessive type of person. If I love something, it occupies my mind and there is very little room for other things. Unfortunately, writing has not been the obsessive thing lately; but I am working on it.

Lovely writers out there, how are you doing in regards to motivation/inspiration/and the works? What’s your average word count per day? Are consistent or no? Tell me about your writing life!

10 responses »

  1. Hey, 9k is great! I’m at a little over 10k myself, but my goal is only 20k. I knew I wouldn’t be able to commit to a word count any more than that. I think that’s my problem with NaNo too, is I have a hard time writing when I don’t feel like it, and a really hard time writing everyday. I get burnt out. But no matter what your word count is at the end of the month, it’s still words you didn’t have when you started šŸ™‚

    • I had to decided on 30k a while back and was planning to prepare for the actual writing month… Didn’t turn out too well. But I am hopeful that I’ll catch up. And you’re right, words are words and I am grateful for them either way. šŸ™‚

  2. World Cup is a totally valid excuse. šŸ™‚ and 9k words is really great – I think the most important part of Camp NaNo WriMo (or regular NaNo WriMo) is getting that great start on a novel, or pushing through the tricky middle, or helping to motivate to the end. I never finish a novel or make it to my word count goal in that lone month, but it does help me push through tricky scenes or writer’s block. šŸ™‚

  3. You’re doing well. I find deadlines always help me get motivated, so I always set goals for myself. Plus I’m competitive, so if I make a goal I just have to reach it. Good luck with the rest of camp šŸ™‚

    • I’m competitive that way too. I’d feel absolutely embarrassed and humiliated if I said I would write 30k, but then don’t make it.
      Thanks for dropping by!

  4. Not writing this month, but feeling the pain as my laptop died three days into a two week vacation. The edit I’m doing for a friend is on hold until I make it home. šŸ˜¦

    I’ll make it up to myself by sitting down and writing the outline for Darkness Concealed’s sequel, Darkness Revealed. NaNo 2014. šŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo Update III | H.M. Brooks Writes

Leave a Reply

