Camp NaNoWriMo Update

Standard

In attempt to get myself back into the swing of writing, I have committed to writing 30k in July. My project is Hidden People – more specifically the second draft, which includes a gazillion changes and revisions.

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

Hidden People is about Oskar and Australia, Icelandic elves, who defy the government’s plans to violently reduce overpopulation and ultimately takeย the island from humans and into their own possession.

So far I am 5k into my 30k goal. Things are going all right. I am a bit behind, but that is primarilyย caused by acute physical exhaustion (my mental exhaustion is obviously chronic). And you know, World Cup (go Germany!).

My cabin mates:

Who else is doing Camp? How are you doing? Iย love hearing about word count updates and stats and all that. Share your progress!

15 responses »

  1. No Camp for me, yet. If I get the right inspiration before the next one, I’m in.
    If you ever feel the need for a beta reader – let me know. I love urban fantasy and – am also fascinated by Iceland. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m also doing Camp, and I’m working on the second draft of my novel, too! Currently about 11.5k/50k words. The premise of your book sounds great. Would you be willing to share more?

  3. Hi! First I just wanted to say I love your novel, bordertown stories are the best! But the idea of

    I did Camp NaNoWriMo in April and I may try it again in August if I can get some ideas from my idea notebook. There is an idea boiling in my mind but I may save it for November…

    I am looking forward to reading more of your posts! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Sheesh. Thanks computer for freezing up on me.

    I meant to say in my first comment, “But the idea of an entire country being taken over sounds pretty cool. I am eagerly waiting for your updates on the progress.”

    • Thanks so much for dropping by. You’ll have to tell me whether you decide to start your idea before November. My current project MAY turn into a trilogy, and I want to write the second book (well, you know, a scribbly first draft) in November.

  5. Ooh the ominous scribbly first draft for a novel. Always a harder task than it seems. The trilogy sounds like an awesome idea if you go that route.

    Actually I have two ideas for novels but I am not sure which one is stronger for me to work on since I am currently dedicating most of my time to my WIP. Did you want to hear about my ideas without me releasing them to the world? Hmmm maybe if I post my idea on the blog people can give their opinions…

    Would you ever consider being writing buddies or critique pals?

    Hope you have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

