The Lighthouse

Standard
Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

All seemed well, but I was blind.

You saved me really. I’d have hit rockbottom.

I’d have wrecked, crashed, died.

There was warmth and light in your friendliness and a patient kindness as you guided me on by.

You sent me on my way.

But you had shown me things I had never seen before.

I didn’t want to leave you. No, I wanted to go to you.

To stay. Be forever.

*

Your gentle words warned me:

“See where I stand – on these sharp rocks, this high cliff?

You can’t be with me because if you try, you will be hurt and ruined.

We are meant for each other. I would not be here were it not for you,

but I am nothing if you don’t let me fulfill my purpose – if you try to force something that wasn’t meant to be.

I can’t come down to you either. It will be dark and your confusion will be far greater.

Go, Love, go that way and I will shine the light for you.”

*

I left you though it was hard.

It was a fight, moving away from the stormy cliff.

It would have been so easy to let the waves carry me to you.

You illuminated my path, and I followed it until I arrived in the open sea.

The water was calm and there was peace.

I smiled until I realized how far away you were.

I could see you far off on the horizon,

standing and waiting to take care of me when I came back.

*

I know I’m in a better place though I miss you and want you.

We’re perfect how you belong there and I’m here.

I’ll always need you, and without each other we’re worthless.

I love you. Thank you.

One response »

Leave a Reply

