Writing Process Blog Tour

Standard

Thanks to my writer friend, Naomi Harvey, I get to partake in the Writing Process Blog Tour that has been going around. I have enjoyed reading about writer’s writing process because we are different and each writer has their own way of getting words out of their head. I have to admit though – mine is not that spectacular.

What am I working on at the moment?

My current project is a work of fantasy. It is inspired by the so-called “hidden people” of Iceland. Over Christmas break, I flew through a rough draft. I’ve been slow since then, but now I am working on a revised first draft.

You can read a bit more on Hidden People here.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I didn’t want to participate in this whole thing because of this question. The story revolves around highly modern elves living in an invisible realm in the human world. That different? No? Oh well.

Why do I write what I do?

Um… because it’s fun? I’m not going to pretend I have my whole act together and have some deeper meaning as to why I write. It has been a hobby for a very long time and I enjoy it. I like for my characters to go through a learning process, and I suppose readers could learn from that. However, it’s not like I’m very preachy in my writing. That is, my story will have those elements but that is not my purpose for writing. Do you know what I mean?

How does my writing process work?

My ideas come from all over. Honestly, most times it is a concept from a movie I’ve seen or other times from a book. It inspires me and I play with the idea in my head until I need to write it down. I work with outlines a bit but I am a pantser at heart. I love to daydream. When a story has me gripped, it’s all I think about. I use every free moment to imagine what will happen next. I go over it again and again so I don’t forget (I do not use notebooks) before writing it. When writing my first draft, I write huge chunks at a time – normally several thousand words a day. The beginning is the funnest part of the process for me.

Then comes going over everything again and catching the parts that don’t work. And fixing them… Yeah, I’m not so good at that part.

 

The last part of this post is nominating three writers to continue the tour on their blogs. Their post should go up on or around the 2nd of June so definitely check them out. My three nominees are…

1. Marie
We have been writing together for quite some time now. Marie is always good for motivation and a wonderful sprinting partner. She’s from Sweden and knows English just about as good as any other. I love that about Scandinavians (my totally unbiased opinion).
Blog: Marie Hogebrandt
Twitter: @melindrea82

2. Belinda
A sweet gal, writing from Mississippi. I actually don’t remember exactly how we met, but we have good writing conversations every now and then.
Blog: The Jolley life.
Twitter: @olivebelinda

3. Lukas
Lukas was my very first writing buddy, so that makes him extra special. We met last year for NaNoWriMo and had great times discussing our writing. He does not have a blog (yet or that I know of…), so follow him on Twitter and tell him he needs one. He’s a good guy, I promise.
Blog: Coming soon!
Twitter: @LukasAvtor

One response »

Leave a Reply

