Friends

Standard

This post is dedicated to the best of friends I have had, have, will have, will have had. Did I miss a tense? 🙂 I had a few people in mind when writing this, but this post isn’t so much about certain friends than it is about friendship itself. What do you think is the most amazing thing about friendships?

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

Sometimes time doesn’t matter.

It could take us a day to become friends. Sometimes longer.

Maybe we’ve never met. Maybe we’ve been apart for years.

And we’re best friends because no matter what’s between us, our love’s not broken.

We live in a society all about self-esteem and loving yourself, giving yourself what you think you are entitled to.

But I am not entitled to your friendship. I do not deserve your love.

That’s what makes you all the more beautiful, and I wish I were more like you – loving the unloveable.

What is the essence of a deep relationship?

Trust, honesty, loyalty? Humor, craziness, amusement?

But what if I actually told you?

Everything.

Everything about me.

Would you change your mind? Would you turn around and walk away?

Would you make me change? Would you tell me what I needed to hear even if I didn’t like it?

I shouldn’t want to keep anything from you. There must be a dark reason behind me keeping parts of me secret.

I am afraid to tell you.

You know me well. You know parts of me that others do not know.

But you do not know all.

*

The best kind of friends have shared everything together…

We’ve laughed until I cried.

We’ve made the stupidest jokes.

We’ve talked about boys – a lot.

We’ve yelled at each other. And made up.

We’ve gone places, gotten lost, parked our cars in ways that would put our fathers to shame, given each other looks because we know exactly what we’re both thinking.

We’ve said I love you. And called each other names.

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

We know we’re not picture perfect, but we take ridiculous selfies together anyway. It’s not like anyone else sees them.

We’re not extremely popular, but we have each other.

We are very different but still alike.

I learn so much from you.

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

I’d have liked to do anything and everything with you.

You make me grin stupidly to myself – or in public.

You make me roll my eyes.

Flip my hair.

Smack my forehead.

You take my breath away.

You make me feel happy.

Sad.

Giggly.

Alive.

Confused.

Young.

In love.

*

Friendship is not limited by distance, but you are so far away.

That doesn’t mean I care for you less.

Or that I’ll forget about you.

It means that no matter where I am, we will still have each other.

And that I wish I could look into your eyes every day and tell you how much I loved you.

That I am lucky to be alive and know you.

That I am happy to be your friend.

Leave a Reply

