On Turning 25

Standard

Lessons Learned Thus Far

I was planning to write some fancy and wise blogpost, but that put way too much pressure on my frail self. It’s my 25th birthday. That’s not too old. I don’t feel old. I don’t feel mature. I don’t feel like I have any idea what I am doing. I have no clue what I am going to do with my life and what is going to happen.

I have, however, learned many important things in the last quarter of a century. Some very important things.

In the beginning God…

When I was about nine years old, I remember standing in line at the grocery store. I observed a family at a different checkout and felt overwhelmed with gratitude for my family. I love my mom. I love my dad. I love that they taught me about God. I love that God let me be my parents’ child. They were the ones to tell me that God created the heavens and the earth.

God is…

  • all-powerful
  • omnipresent
  • omniscient
  • merciful and gracious
  • holy and just
  • love

I am a great sinner, and Christ is a great Savior.

John Newton, the man who wrote the famous hymn “Amazing Grace”, said this. And I agree with him completely. I have observed that the more I become aware of my own sinful nature and failings, the greater God becomes. The more I understand myself, the more I see of His glory in His loving compassion for me. He has given me so, so many things that I did not deserve one bit. Often I think, “Why me? Why in the world was God merciful to me of all people – why did He choose me?” Because He is gracious and He offers love and forgiveness to all who come to Him. I am so glad He let me come.

Most of all, I am glad that He keeps me. If it were up to me to stick with Him, I’d have failed the moment I believed. I fail each and every day – miserably. Thanks be to my God and Savior for His endless love and compassion for a wretch like me.

Life is fleeting.

Compare life on this earth to eternity. Too often, I waste my time with futile matters while my time and energy should be invested in things of eternal worth. Also, suffering and sorrow hardly counts in view of an endless life in glory. So the few years I live here may suck a bit. I won’t get everything I want. But what is the use in getting worked up about that? I could die tomorrow and where would the use in complaining have been then? I might live another fifty years and then I’m gone. In the light of eternity, that’s nothing. Nothing.

Chocolate is delicious.

I mean seriously.

10 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday! I’ll be turning thirty this year and sometimes I feel old and sometimes I still feel like an awkward 16 year old. I have two kids and sometimes it’s like “I’m the grown-up?”
    So glad to hear you love God! I don’t think I knew that about you? I love him, too. Jesus is my saviour 🙂 Hope you have a fantastic day. God bless.

    • I definitely don’t feel old – that’s for sure. I act like a 16-year-old ALL the time… It’s kind of sad. 😀
      Thank you for reading and commenting!

  2. This is really late, but I hope you had a really lovely birthday. This was such a touching post. I’m going to have to catch up with everything I’ve missed these past few weeks now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

