No One Will Understand

Standard

At least once in their life, everyone has the right to talk of things no one else will understand.

But maybe they do understand. Maybe they know how you’re feeling – not exactly and they can’t read your mind, only the words; but they have a connection with those words because they’ve felt that way. They have felt misunderstood – or not understood at all. Most likely, they don’t even understand their feelings.

I don’t understand the way I feel. I don’t know why.

Feelings – one big heap of mess, piling higher and higher. A mountain of garbled thoughts and emotions. It needs to be sorted out. I need to sort it out, but I don’t know if I want to, afraid of what I might find. Intentions, desires and needs, deep-rooted longing.

What if I hurt people in the process? What if I leave the mountain? Will it erupt and cause more damage than I ever imagined?

Everyone’s got their mountain, and they’ve formed for different reasons. How did this happen? How could I have let it happen?

The mountain. Thoughts. Emotions.

Thoughts are wild.

Emotions, often untamable.

But I have to tame them. It’s not about doing what you feel, how you feel, what you think is best, what you think will make you feel better. It is about doing what is right. Thought processes need to be conform with truth. Stray from that and you are lost. You play with irrationality, stupidity; and kiss common sense goodbye. But it doesn’t even have to be common sense. Common sense does not equal what is right. Common sense shifts with culture and society. Truth is eternal, and that is my anchor.

Don’t be controlled by emotions. Be controlled by truth, and it will set you free. Wrong thinking should be given no room to fester in your mind, poisoning not only yourself but potentially ruining others as well. Don’t be so selfish as to let the way you feel affect others in a negative way. Think of others before self.

Others.

I feel worse when I think about myself and when everything is about me and how I can feel better. Go out, and try to give instead of take.

Yes, that mountain needs to be flattened and destroyed. It should not be ignored, but dealt with. Deal with it.

Change that attitude, and keep your chin up. You can’t see much with your head hanging low.

9 responses »

  1. This is harsh and beautifully poetic. We’ve all, at one time or another, struggled with our emotions. Sometimes we can keep them in check but, more often than not, we are overwhelmed and become slave to them.

    Very well written and heartfelt piece.

  2. Emotions can be so tricky. I love that you say deal with it, because it is so true. Burying your emotions leads to illness. Both mental and physical. One needs to honour their emotions. Work through them. Deal with them.

    Love this post. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

