WIRED FOR STORY by Lisa Cron

Standard

wiredforstorylisacron

I bought this book last year, and I had apparently painted my fingernails red the same day. You girls and owners of cheap nail polish will know what I mean when you examine the photo.

I’ve been trying to think of a cool way to review this book. Fail.

While I was not impressed by the “brain science” part of the book, I learned a lot from the writing tips and theory behind storytelling. This was my first book on writing. Everything in your story needs to have its purpose. Don’t mention anything that doesn’t need to be there. A story is about its characters and how they react to their surroundings and situation. That is what makes a story interesting. That is what hooks readers.

After reading this book, I was – and still am – hesitant to try another book on writing. I loved this book so much and still refer to it all the time. It is a very helpful (not to mention interesting) read, and I recommend it to any writer looking for the basics behind telling an amazing story that will attract an audience.

What is your favorite book on writing? Tell me in the comments.

Also, check out Outlining Your Novel by K.M. Weiland

Coming soon: Help! For Writers by Roy Peter Clark

11 responses »

  1. So far my fav book is 20 Master Plots: And How to Build Them by Tobias. I did not get how story and plot were not the same until I read this little gem. The skeleton and coat hanger metaphors didn’t explain it for me. Tobias did. Plus, he has tons of examples which is something I need in a writing craft book.

    I have a goal of reading one writing craft book a month. That is just 12 a year. I strike out more than I hit any really good ones though. I have this one purchased already but have not read it.

    If you’re interested, here is my good reads link to the ones I have read or am reading along with my reviews.
    https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/27240151-winter-bayne?shelf=on-writing
    Also I post the reviews on my blog when I’m done.

    Keep telling me your thoughts on these books. I need some good recommendations.

  2. I have a few writing books that are lying around but rarely use, there is only one I go back to and that is, ‘Creative Writing’ by Adele Ramet. It was one of my first books and helped motivate me into really wanting to write, it also has great tips, exercises and just general advice 🙂

  3. I have four great books sitting right in front of me:
    1. The Writer’s Idea Book by Jack Heffron. This books is full of more than 400 writing prompts for just about anything you would want to write.
    2. Revision & Self-Editing by James Scott Bell
    3. Plot & Structure by James Scott Bell. These two books have helped me a lot. They are full of information and examples of writing. They both cover a lot of bases and are fun to read. I’ve highlighted so much in them.
    4. Writing and Selling Your Mystery Novel by Hallie Ephron. This one I haven’t used in a long time because it’s focused on mysteries and well…I haven’t written a mystery in years. But it is another great read full of information. If I had to pick between them, I would definitely go for the James Scott Bell books. They have been the most help to me personally.

  4. I found K.M. Weiland’s books on outlining and structure really useful too. Also worth a look IMO are:

    1. Techniques of the Selling Writer by Dwight Swain.
    2. Writing fiction for dummies by Peter Economy and Randy Ingermanson.

    All of these books proffer a similar approach. I understand that the Scenes and Sequels technique was developed by Swain and has been adapted by Weiland and Economy/Ingermanson in their books. It’s really useful stuff if you prefer taking a structured approach to writing.

    Regards

    Dave

  5. Pingback: OUTLINING YOUR NOVEL by K.M. Weiland | H.M. Brooks Writes

Leave a Reply

