On Character And What You Deserve

Standard

“You deserve to be happy.”

“Think of yourself first.”

“Do what is best for you.”

I hear words like these all the time. Our society seems obsessed with self-love, with chasing personal dreams – often at the cost of others. People are challenged to do whatever it takes to get whatever they want. We’ve turned into a humanity that focuses more on self than others.

Still, we know what is good. We approve of stories with themes like selflessness, love, and sacrifice. I wonder why we then encourage the promotion of selfishness, which is ultimately hate, in our society and daily lives.

Ask yourself this – would you like to be depicted as the protagonist of a story? How would you be described? As self-centered, egotistic, and uncaring? Would you be doing everything to pursue your own dreams while ignoring the needs of others? Be honest.

I am not a deserving person. I am selfish, lazy, complicated, impatient, and mean. I lie and cheat, have hateful thoughts, and speak unkindly. I think about myself way too much. I do not deserve to be happy. Chasing my dreams means finding contentment in futile things, seeking comfort and recognition, taking the easy road. In short, I am not a lovable person and would not be a likable character in a book.

We’re all human. We’re all a mess. It is our nature to be selfish, but grace is about getting what you do not deserve. My very life is grace. Redemption through God’s love, mercy, and grace allows me to change my life’s basis. The purpose of life turns from living for self to living for Christ and others.

I can’t forget and deny myself without help, without Christ. But through His grace, He draws my attention away from self. And I want to be selfless in order to…

  1. honor and glorify Christ because He saved me from myself
  2. love and care about others like Christ loves me

What are your thoughts? Do you think society is promoting beliefs we actually know are wrong? I’d love to chat with you in the comments. You can also tweet or email me!

 

Under the sun, I found we were left to drown
Evil abounds, weight is pullin’ us down
No sight or sound, impaired to His care
Chasing after the wind, running after the air
Deserving of desertion, servants of destruction
And everyday we taste of a grace that we’re unconcerned with
My sin I should be burned with, I’m guilty, filthy, and stained
But He became a curse, drank my cup and took my pain
And for that He reigns, through faith I’m changed
And I don’t have a reason why He loosened up my chains

I don’t believe in luck; I believe in Grace
But they say we’re lucky cause we seen His face

Lucky Ones (Lecrae ft. Rudy Currence)

4 responses »

  1. Hi there! I think the fact that a character isn’t all that perfect attracts readers because they see a mirror image of themselves. So when a flawed character comes out of his challenges (from selfishness to doing a selfless act, for example) it kinda makes us as readers feel theat we too can beat those not-so-good stuff we call our nature.
    But God loves us, eitherway. And, like a Writer, He is willing to build us through our character arcs, and make us more like He wants us to be: more loving, caring, and all.

    Great work, hesthermay.
    🙂

  2. I do think society promotes beliefs they know are wrong–or at least, if people stopped and thought for a moment, they would realize are contradictory. Look out for number one, but love your neighbor. Pursue your dreams at all cost, but be willing to lay down your life for others.

    I think the problem is that the world wants to be godless, but we weren’t designed to be godless. As Romans 1 tells us, we were created to worship our Creator, but we suppress the knowledge of God in order to follow after our own selfish desires. But since that knowledge is only suppressed, and not destroyed, men know what is right–even if they don’t want to do it. That to me explains the apparent schizophrenia of the world, where people pursue their own agenda, and yet praise values that are Biblical. People are trying to live by their own standards, but find this doesn’t work unless they borrow a Christian worldview which allows them to be selfless, kind, exercise reason, and value others. Of course, they don’t believe they are borrowing from the Christian worldview, but no other worldview can give an adequate reason *why* you should be selfless and kind, where reason comes from, why we have law and justice, and so on.

    Just a sampling of my thoughts on a very interesting topic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

