Rewriting

Standard

In high school I learned the steps of the writing process –

  1. Plan
  2. Write
  3. Rewrite
  4. Edit

Do you follow this process? And particularly the rewrite step – do you start a fresh document and write everything again? Or do you leave some sections the same and only rewrite some scenes or chapters?

As for me, I will be starting the rewriting process of my project Hidden People soon. I will rewrite every word, though most times I have my first draft at hand (yay for Scrivener’s split-screen!), and a lot of the process is copying what is already there. But it is good to go over every word again, often changing or adding, cutting things.

What is your writing process in four steps?

18 responses »

  1. I pretty much follow those same steps. I always rough draft, then edit, then my other steps are 1. revison 2 . revison and 3. revision. Lol… I’m serious, I will revison my stuff to death. After a while I just let it go.

    Dee

  2. My process is more:

    1. Plan
    2. Write
    3. Bang head on desk repeatedly
    4. Return to step 1

    I don’t necessarily rewrite the whole manuscript but do I read every word of it and redraft the parts that don’t fit. Sometimes, I may as well rewrite the whole thing. Also, my rewrite and edit steps are one and the same.

  3. I’ve only just started my editing process on something that I’ve finally finished. Maybe it’s because I’m new to the process, but I don’t actually rewrite a scene or chapter unless it needs it. Do you find that it helps?

    • It helps me. I like having a fresh page and it helps filter out parts that actually don’t belong in the story. For me, it is easier to identify unnecessary scenes and elements that way. It is a lot of typing though.

  4. I agree with Chris’ process. Truest depiction of mine. ๐Ÿ˜€
    My second draft’s 95% a complete rewrite/overhaul. The motivation, plot, even the character arcs are all changed. *sniff*

    Good luck with yours!

    • Another reason to do a complete rewrite. I think it would be easier to overlook inconsistencies by only editing, revising. Sometimes you have to change things (like you said plot, motivation, character arc) because of how it developed during the first draft. Very true.
      Thanks for the comment!

  5. Though I don’t do a full re-write (though I see the benefits) I do pretty much follow that plan ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s all about the editing most of the time! ๐Ÿ˜€ Great post.

Leave a Reply

