Why I Listen to Taylor Swift

Standard

I believe writers are artists. They are creative and imaginative. And we all can use a boost of inspiration. I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22 — Okay, that’s actually not what I was going to say. I don’t know about you, but I listen to a lot of music while writing. Some people say lyrics distract them. (They distract me too until I have the song memorized.)

I love listening to lyrics, which brings me to Taylor Swift. She is a storyteller and one of the reasons she is so successful is her ability to communicate her thoughts and emotions so genuinely. It makes me a bit jealous, and I hope that I am able to share my characters’ emotions just as well.

All this to say that Taylor Swift’s (and many other musicians’) music style inspires me to show emotion in my writing, digging deeper into my characters’ souls, giving reasons and whole stories for their actions. Do you have musicians you listen to in order to get inspired (emotionally or not)? For example, I also like listening to epic soundtracks when it comes to fight scenes or battle. Romantic music for the romantic parts, etc.

I am always on the lookout for new music, so if you have anything in particular that you love, please share!

Please don’t hate me if you don’t like Taylor Swift. We can still be friends. πŸ™‚

13 responses »

  1. I always listen to music when I write but type of music varies dependant on the emotion I’m trying to invoke. I’ll listen to fast-paced songs when writing action scenes, traditional music when fleshing out settings, the list goes on. I posted about the influence of music a few weeks ago.

  2. I agree, she is a story teller. And gifted at that. Most of the time I write with a television providing ambient noise. But for music, I like to go with something abstract and instrumental. Sometimes lyrics can be a little too inspirational to my words. I guess I make most of my emotional connection to my characters in my head during quiet times.

  3. I don’t listen to music when I write, which might be due to the fact that I always write inside the house, as opposed to outside. But I do like Taylor Swift (and 22!) and the other day I was really thinking of her honesty in songs and how it’s totally okay if we write characters that remind us of other people.
    Sorry, I think I veered off there…

    In terms of inspiration, one song that always motivates me is Kelly Clarkson’s Break Away. For obvious reasons. πŸ™‚

  4. It depends on my mood; sometimes I can write while listening to music and sometimes I can’t. Usually if I do listen to music, it has to be something that either has no words or something I don’t know all the words to––or else I get distracted by singing along, haha. As for writing inspirations, I’d say Florence + the Machine is probably my biggest musical influence. Her songs also tell stories, and they have a very dark and intriguing atmosphere to them which always makes me feel excited to write (especially because I mostly write creepy stuff, haha). πŸ™‚

  5. I listen to Taylor Swift too, in fact two of her songs I listen to for one of my manuscripts because they go so well with it. I don’t listen really when I write unless I am looking for some inspiration in a scene I’m stuck in. But I love listening to music when brainstorming, helps the juices to flow πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: This is the End…of the Month | Chris Musgrave - Writer in Training

Leave a Reply

