Before You Start Editing

Standard

Hello everyone,

after the last post‘s discussion, I have decided to wrap up the first draft of my fantasy novel. At this point, I want to set the draft away for a while before I pick it up and start the editing/rewrite process. I have two reasons for this –

  1.  No time! I have exams coming up and I need to finish my darn bachelor thesis soon.
  2. It is recommended to take a break so you can look at your work from a fresh viewpoint.

How long do you usually wait between completing a draft and starting the editing process? I’ll probably wait three weeks. More like four, actually. My last exam is on February 14th – Valentine’s Day!

Share your experience and advice in the comments and have a nice week!

13 responses »

  1. Good luck with your exams and thesis! And I think three weeks is a good length of time … I think I usually wait about a month or two before tackling revisions. I don’t like to put it off for too long, but I also like to wait long enough that I can look at the manuscript with fresh eyes.

    • Thanks!
      I am going to be sooo happy when all is over and I can turn back to my story. Of course then I will have to start looking for a real job, but never mind that. One problem at a time. 🙂

  2. I have no self control at all. I edit earlier chapters as I write. I put it away after I finish, but remember one small thing and take it out. I usually won’t do a complete read through for a few weeks though.

  3. Hi Hester; Who would have thought we could be happy with school work? I sense you are going into it with enthusiasm and purpose. When I finish a draft, I cannot stand to get away, and do something, anything else. I am especially happy if I don’t have to use my mind, but requires all my attention. HE goes and does something physical. I go visit Grand Mother. I won’t even look at the draft for a couple of weeks. Thank you and happy editing, Silent

  4. Wow. When I have something really important to submit, I do that process. Everytime i step away from my work and revisit it later, i find typos, punctuation mistakes, and almost always there is a need to make revisons. In the end, it turns out to be a much better piece of writing.
    Dee

  5. If it helps, I usually wait a month between each draft. And think about aspects I’ve forgotten. As well as inconsistencies in voice. The period between the second to forth draft are crucial, before I ship it off to a professional editor. So I can have it all it can be, so I can show them my best work.

    • I think a month is the longest I could wait. I keep catching myself sneaking to the first draft – but I’d like to come back to it after a break so I can read it with fresh eyes. Discipline, discipline! 😀
      Thanks for the comment, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

