Do You Ever…

Standard

… question the purpose of your blog? I do. My current questions are –

  • Why do I blog?
  • Who am I blogging for?
  • What do I expect?

Ultimately, I thought a blog would be good to connect with (potential) readers and build a platform; but considering the content, I’m not so sure after all. Most of my posts are about writing and the writing process. Are my potential readers actually interested in that? I know I love reading other writers’ blogs and what they’re up to, but are other writers my target audience with my blog? Is that why I set this up?

As you may be able to tell, I’m just thinking this through and wondering about it. Maybe you have a thought on this topic. Tell me about it in the comments. I would love to hear some other ideas and insights.

14 responses »

  1. I find myself often wondering the same thing … First of all, I think for me I enjoy having a writing blog because it connects me with fellow writers and makes me feel more like a part of the writing community. I always find other writers’ blogs interesting and useful, so I hope to give back to the writing community in the same way.

    I think it can also help gain an audience. It may be primarily writers who read writing blogs, but most writers do read a lot––and then if they like a book they’ll recommend it to their friends who aren’t writers, etc. πŸ™‚

  2. I went through the same thing. Ultimately, I didn’t feel like trying to pinpoint an overall theme or demographic and instead just focused on being myself. Now I tend to write about emotions and experiences, that although mostly have to do with my writing journey, also just have a lot to do with life. I love connecting with other people through blogging but if I tried to mold every post into something that would please others rather than myself, I don’t think I’d enjoy it as much. Now I think of blogging as more of a daily journal and something I’ll enjoy looking back on one day and even though I would consider myself as my “target audience” I know that others are still reaping the benefits of my honesty and authenticity.

  3. I love stuff about the writing process. I automatically feel a connection to other folks who put themselves throught it. I have to admit that my reasons have changed too. I still want to promote my work, but the community has more to offer than I first imagined.

  4. I started my blog as a platform so if I ever get published I have something already established πŸ™‚ As far as I can tell, it’s doing okay so far πŸ™‚ I post only about writing.

    • I think your blog is doing okay so far too! πŸ™‚ I really like it, and it’s a great place to connect with other writers and talk about all things writing!
      Thanks for the comment. πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve been blogging for almost a year and I ask those questions too. πŸ™‚ When I first decided to begin blogging, I thought about what I wanted to accomplish. I came down to the hope that my posts would encourage those who read them.

    There are a lot of writing blogs out there, and I don’t feel like an expert in that field! πŸ™‚ So, I opted to try to relate with readers of the kinds of books I write. I don’t have a ton of followers, but as for numbers, that one is growing slowly. I think knowing the purpose of your blog helps decide how you move forward, if that makes sense. πŸ™‚

    Good for you in thinking this through. I look forward to reading more of your posts. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

