What Do You Do…

Standard

… when inspiration strikes? Like, really hard; and you can’t get your mind off it or even think about anything else. What do you do when you have a new idea that trumps any other you ever had?

I feel so bad for abandoning The Resolution for now, but I had to. I was at the movies (The Hobbit 2) and was struck. Oh man, how inspiration struck. I want to finish The Resolution. I have plans, but I had to leave it – mind you, just for now; but I feel bad and fickle.

  • Has this ever happened to you? Have you ever left a writing idea for a different, seemingly better one?
  • Did you feel guilty for not finishing what you started?
  • Do you work on different projects at once?

Let me know in the comments. More on my new, strikingly inspired work-in-progress soon!

7 responses »

  1. I faced this same issue just last week. I’m a big proponent of finishing everything I start and have been really good about devoting myself solely to one project at a time. But I’m in the middle of finishing a series I’ve been working on and for two weeks I just couldn’t get inspired. I’ve forced my way through blocks before but this time I just knew that I needed to take a step back and take a break. I hate leaving it unfinished but I have to remind myself that it’s just for now and luckily I have a brand new shiny idea that’s been keeping me busy this week. One thing I know for certain though is that even though this new idea feels good and the inspiration is flowing pretty freely right now, there will come a time during the writing of this book where I get stumped just like with all the others. But since I’ll have the initial novel to get back to when this happens I know that I will still be productive regardless of which novel I’m currently working on. Hope another perspective helps!

    • Yeah, I guess it is good to have a project you can get back to when inspiration and motivation fails. I’m just at a pretty boring job with my initial novel – changing the narration from first to third person. 100k words. No fun. That might have something to do with it. =)

      And I think I would also feel bad if I ignored my “new inspiration” because you never know what could come out of it.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. It’s a tricky thing when that happens. I’ve had that recently with my current WIP, I was stuck on one of my other WIPs so I was looking through ideas I had written down and was suddenly struck with the inspiration to create a novel from one of them. I’ve ended up (momentarily I hope) stopping the other WIPs in order to focus on the current one (I usually write about 3 or so at a time but am focusing on one at the moment). I feel the same, one of the WIPs I stopped I had been writing since 2009 and was in the middle of the 5th draft so I’m really upset that I haven’t finished it. In the end I had to hope that this new idea would turn out better than my previous ones and I’ve been lucky because so far it has possibly been my best work.

    Good luck with your new WIP!

    Janna

  3. I have switched stories due to inspiration striking and found it difficult to go back to the original. It is easier for me, though, to switch between stories if they are different formats–a novel versus a short story for example. I hope that you are able to complete both!
    Cheers!
    Chris

    • I actually have a ton of started novels that I never finished and simply abandoned when I got a new idea. I don’t think I will ever go back to any of them. Well… maybe. Probably not though.
      I definitely want to finish these two though.

      Thanks for commenting! It’s nice to read about other writers’ experiences.

Leave a Reply

