Writing for Fun

Standard

Writing for fun is the best kind of writing. All too often, I try to write what will – or might – please other people. Or I am afraid to write what I want, worried about what other people might think.

I think one of my best examples for “writing for fun” is my current project – The Resolution.  I started it a long time ago; and last Christmas break, I started again. I really liked my idea for the story but wasn’t sure how things were going to turn out. So I decided to use this story as my vent for fun writing. I didn’t want to worry about a great plot or interesting characters. I was just going to write.

Turns out, the plot is my favorite so far; the characters are charming; and I’ve written more for this story than any other story I have ever started, except one.

Writing is work, but work can be fun.

 

hesthermay

Leave a Reply

